Monday, November 30, 2009

College


I've been getting a lot of things in the mail about college lately. It has made me rethink my idea of what I want for college and what college I want to go to. I've gotten things from good colleges and I'm thinking, "THOSE ARE BETTER THAN USI!" Yeah, Mr. Jones may hate me for that, but whatever.
So, at the moment, I'm thinking of Bellarmine. One thing that I absolutely LOVE about it is that if I major in elementary secondary education, I also get a license in special education. For a while, I've been torn between elementary and special education, so this is a great plus. It seems like a great university, so I'm excited to learn more about it.
I'm also looking at Georgetown. I just got something in the mail from them and have been looking at their college. So I don't know. I'm still undecided, but leaning towards Bellarmine - today.
I plan on visiting colleges during spring break so I should come back with more of an idea where I want to go. (:

Sunday, November 29, 2009

Tell City v. Cannelton Basketball Game

So I went to Tell City with my dad for the basketball game. Before the game, we went to my grandparents and had our Thanksgiving there. (:
So my dad always likes to get to places early (LIKE AN HOUR EARLY) but anywhosers, we were there early and watched the JV game before he had to officiate the Varsity game. The JV game was nasty. Both teams were no good, but Tell City just lacked defense less than Cannelton. Watching them warm up, I knew it was going to bad. Neither team could get a ball in the basket and I turned to my dad and told him it was going to be nasty. And oh how it was. Final score of the JV game: 75-16... Yeah...
Finally, it was time for the Varsity game. My dad goes out there and, from the beginning, the Cannelton coach does not like him. They continuously get into fights and Dad just walks away... For the first half anyway.
It got pretty boring after half time - until about three minutes left in the game. A Cannelton player falls, and instead of getting up, pulls a Tell City player down with him. So another ref. calls an intentional foul - all good, right? NO.
Cannelton coach starts YELLING at my dad for not seeing it and says that it was not a foul. Okay, you were going to lose by about, oh I don't know, 30 anyway. What could two shots have done for you, really? So the Cannelton coach is screaming at my dad and the Tell City coach. Oh, how it was on. So they start yelling at each other, and my dad just stands in the middle, yelling at them both. It was hilarious! And then this woman in front of me stands up and is like, "there's going to be a fight!" So I'm like, "Sit down! I'm trying to watch!"
It broke up really quickly, with the Cannelton kid yelling at my dad too. It was interesting. But very funny. (:

Thursday, November 19, 2009

My Ride in the Car with Marley's Boy


I am going to start this blog off by saying, NEVER RIDE IN THE CAR WITH NICK MILLER. I spent the whole time yelling at him. But hey, he only drove me for about a half mile, and I saw my life flash before my eyes. To your right there is a picture of me and the accused, in happier times. Then, he didn't have his license and couldn't threaten my life. But now, the story is much different.
It all started off innocently enough - I asked him to drive me home after drama practice because we got done early. He said, "I don't know if I can." And after a quick phone call, we were on our way to his car. He was taking a long time to leave the auditorium, telling Marley that he loved her and what not, so I was yelling at him - per usual, "COME ON NICK!" No, I'm not needy. AT. ALL. (:
On our way to the car, I lagged behind. I should have trusted my instinct then. I knew not to get in the car with him. I JUST KNEW IT! But, I got in there anyway, and as we started to drive, he says, "Which way do I go?" So I tell him, "You can leave turn out of the parking lot either way and still get to my house in a timely fashion." Then, he says, "I choose left." Okie dokey, that doesn't bother me.
So, we take off out of the parking spot. As he turns left onto Gemini, he yells something I did not want to hear in a car. I go, "NICK. SHUT UP. DON'T SAY THAT!". So he counters with, "Would you rather me yell, 'vehicular manslaughter'?" And I said, "Yes, that would be lovely."
After what seems like five minutes, we get to the intersection of Gemini and Tamarack. We sit a while and he says, "They seem like they're going slow," And I say, "Don't push it!" So he goes, "What button?" Hardy har har.
Finally we get to my house, I say thank you, and I am super glad to get out of the car. But I was very appreciative for the ride home.
I was just kidding, Nick was a great driver, very cautious, but.... Still Nick. :D

Wednesday, November 18, 2009

Thanksgiving


I am so looking forward to Thanksgiving. I get to see all of my family. They live in town, but I don't get to see them much, so I keep up with them on Facebook. I'm really excited to see all of my little cousins who I have gotten really close to lately. I'm also looking forward to seeing my aunts and uncles and my grandparents. Another thing, I'm excited for my cousin's CHOCOLATE PIE! She makes the greatest chocolate pie in the world. It is delicious. So I'm super excited about that.
Then, on Saturday, I plan on going to my grandparent's house in Indiana for their Thanksgiving. We have my family from St. Louis coming in and I always look forward to seeing them. I'm also ready for some of my grandma's CHICKEN AND DUMPLINGS! They are the best! No one makes chicken and dumplings like my grandma. They're not exactly dumplings, they're like squares; I don't know. But they're delicious. And I want some right now. :D

Monday, November 16, 2009

License Test...

So I took my license test Friday, and passed. (:
Granted, it was the most nerve racking experience of my life and I hope to never have to do that. I won't unless I move - which I think I might to Indiana - but that's another blog, another time. Hopefully soon. :D
We'll start from the beginning of that day. I woke up the most nervous I have ever been in all of my life. My mom had the day off work and we got up early so I could practice a little bit. After I had practiced, I went to school and was super NERVOUS. I could not stand just sitting there and waiting for time to pass. But, I had to. So it sucked.
My mom checked me out a few minutes early, which didn't hurt at all. I was still nervous and I ended up driving to the test site, still being the most nervous I have ever been. We arrived about 20 minutes early and I watched the person in front of me take the test. I think that was what made me the most nervous. Once they left, I was like, "WHAT DO I DO? WHERE DID THEY GO?" Yeah, I was pretty nervous. (:
Finally, it was my turn. I was super nervous when he asked me, "ARE YOU WEARING CONTACTS?!!!!" And I was just so meek saying, "Yes, sir." Then, he got in the car and said, "I write down the good and the bad. I go by the book; I don't try to trick you. Just stay away from the bad." And I'm like, "...Ummm, okay."
Then, we were off. I parallel parked, I did a turn about, everything needed. While being as nervous as humanly possible without having a break down. Finally, as we were rounding the last turn, he says, "It's your last left turn, you can breathe now." And I'm like, "Ha.." And he goes, "I haven't heard you breathe the whole time; It's bad when you turn the color of your shirt." Yeah, embarrassing. I was wearing a blue sweatshirt. So I guess he thought I was dying.
But I didn't - I passed. And I drove me and Alyssa out to Southern Oaks that night. It's amazing now. :D

Friday, November 13, 2009

The Pledge of Allegiance

TODAY WE HAVE WON A GREAT BATTLE!
This boy in our class actually stood up for the pledge. I was so excited; we clapped and everything. There was just one thing - it bothers me that I had to be excited that someone was standing up, shouldn't everyone?
I've been taught that you stand up during the pledge and say it. You stand up during the national anthem, and put your hand over your heart as they sing it. When I saw this boy in my chemistry class sit, and then when we got mad at him for sitting, LAUGH at me - I was infuriated. I had a tad bit of a heated conversation with him - well, more about him, he wouldn't look at me- and I was none too pleased about that. At least have the common courtesy to STAND during the pledge. I'm not asking you to say it if you don't want to, but stand up. Don't sit there like you'd be wasting your whole life away if you stood for ten seconds saying the pledge.
On Veteran's Day, he did not stand up - but today he does? I just have one thing to say to that boy - respect those who fought for you. How do you do that? By saying the pledge everyday. Learn to do it and learn to like it. Those veterans do so much so you have the right to be in school. But when they were fighting, I doubt they thought they were fighting so you could have the right NOT to say the pledge.
So a huge thank you to all the veterans - my grandpa included. And those who are fighting for us right now - my cousin, Nick, my stepbrother, Eric, and a shout-out to Laura Beth's dad. You all are doing/ have done so much to help us.
THANK YOU