Saturday, March 27, 2010

That's all I have to do for fifty bucks...?

Haha. So right now, you're probably thinking, "what?" but it's really a great story. And here it is:
So I'm up in Terre Haute, IN with my dad right now for the Indiana Special Olympics and he has his official friends and what not. So after today(Saturday) we go to the guy who runs the thing's house and have a little party. Well I'm the only person from Kentucky besides my dad(who's really a Hoosier but lives in Kentucky) and my dad's friend's wife. So I'm being heckled during the UK game and I turn to the guy beside me and I'm like, "I WANNA HIT THIS GUY!" Well, my dad's friends aren't the nicest people in the traditional sense of the word and the guy I wanted to hit, Bob, is in there with the best of them and had no problem being mean to me. Well, the guy sitting next to me was Tom, and said, very enthusiastically, that he would pay to see me hit Bob. So began the journey towards my fifty bucks.
A few minutes later, Tom comes up to me with twenty dollars and says that he will pay me that to hit him. I go, "noooo. That's mean." Then, it increases to forty. Once it hits that, it's on. I tell them, "Get it to fifty." And you won't believe you added the last five dollars----BOB. When my dad saw that, him and his best friend, Trevor had to walk out of the house they were laughing so hard. So now that it was fifty, I was like, "Umm. Can it be after the game?" They were like, "Nooo. Next time out!" As luck would have it, two seconds later, there was a time out. So I get up, it gets dead quiet and PJ, this other referee, pulls out his phone and starts taking the video. So I feel AWFUL. I walk up to Bob and go "Ummm....." And then I just kind of hit him, like barely at all. And then they got really mad because I didn't hit him hard enough, so I had to do it again, and I barely hit him any harder at all. But, hey, it worked. I got my fifty bucks. And Bob was a good sport about it so it made me feel much better.
So now I'm fifty dollars richer and what I did will now be a joke at many Special Olympics Terre Haute parties to come. (:

Monday, March 22, 2010

If I Had Time

If I had time to do anything, it'd probably be to chill with my friends. Lately, I have not had any time to hang out with any of my friends except at school, and we all know that's not really hanging out. I've been really stressed and busy and Friday night I actually got to hang out with Emily, Stacie, and Alyssa after the play. It was just nice. We all went to Beef's and just chilled there for a while. After that, we went to my house and sat on my swing. It was just nice. Just what I needed and if I had more time, I'd hang with them a lot more. They've been the ones there for me through everything that's going on in my crazy life right now. Love you guyssss. :D

Thursday, March 18, 2010

"That's not funny, Heather ---- I mean Tiffany."

So the play was last night, and it actually went well! Last night I was very nervous before the play and then we actually started getting into it, I felt better and more at ease. Opening night is always the hardest, and it is now over!
There were a few mess-ups though, as you can see is the title of this blog haha. We have a power point/ slide show kind of thing with pictures that are supposed to represent the time elapsed between the first act and the second that shows how close everyone on the "staff" have become. When we got to the second song of the slide show, I was afraid the music might run out and I was really scared, but it didn't, so it was all good. Mrs. Berry came up to the light booth after intermission and was like, "OH MY GOODNESS. I THOUGHT THE MUSIC WAS GOING TO RUN OUT!" Mrs. Berry was already super nervous so we were like, "It's okay, Blueberry. Chill."
The last scene, when Wanda is cleaning out Darby's desk, I kind of messed-up, but not really. Wanda was taking FOREVER cleaning off the desk and we have three light changes for that one part alone. It goes from full back lights, to dim, to dark. I had on the full back lights for a long time and I'm turning to Marley going, "I need to turn it off, really. Nooo, really." and Marley's telling me to wait but I do believe she would have sat there for another five minutes had I not turned the lights out on her.
And then there are the dogs. We have two dogs in the show and they don't get along - at all. So we had to keep them in Mrs. Berry's room until the time. I do believe that was the most stressful having to tell them, "WE NEED THE DOG!" and them running with the dog so that we could have them on stage on time.
So this blog went in about five directions about the play, but all in all, it was good. :D

Tuesday, March 16, 2010

College Fair


I'm so excited about the college fair on Thursday. I have my colleges narrowed down to two (although they do change by the hour) but I'm pretty sure these are the two. They are both small and offer the best program for what I want. After I go to the college fair, I think I'm going to make two posters: one with Bellarmine and the other with KWC. I'm going to list the pros and cons of each. My only problem is, I'm so uncertain at this moment that I hate it. It's consuming all my thoughts. I'm only a junior. But really, only? Right now, I should have it narrowed down to two, which I do, and be almost ready to decide. I'm TOTALLY ready to decide what school I'm going to. It's just that I almost need a sign. I need a neon sign that says, "GO TO BELLARMINE" or "GO TO KWC". I just wish it were that simple. So right now, I'm just in limbo. Wondering where I'm going to go. But I think I might make that poster tonight and maybe that will help me.
Here's my quick list: I love Bellarmine, I love everything about it. The only problem is that it's in Louisville and I can't student teach here - where I want to live after college. KWC is perfect for the student teaching aspect. My dad graduated from there and my mom went there for a short time. My dad also used to be the golf coach - but that may not be a good thing, they'd be like, "EWWW. A MINTO." Lol. My only problem with KWC is that I won't be able to experience living on my own. I want to live in a dorm, but I may have to give that selfish want up to help myself later on when I start my career. UGGHH.
As you can tell, this is on my mind a lot. Sorry that like ALL of my blogs are about college. Haha.

Sunday, March 14, 2010

Wuthering Heights



I finally checked Wuthering Heights out from the library! I have been dying to read it forever. I've always heard it's the ultimate love story, but more. It makes me so excited to read it finally. I also checked out Jane Eyre. I think that since we read AToTC, I feel more confident reading classics and I know I can beast them.
I haven't gotten very far, but so far it seems really good. They're just introducing Catherine and I'm so excited. I'll tell you guys how the book is. (:

Friday, March 5, 2010

I'm Gonna Hit Someone!

So I'm sitting in drama practice, and I cannot stand half of the people in here. They complain when the play sucks, but during practice, they don't give a rat's poo. They sit there, goof off and when the play comes around they're like, "Why does it suck??!" Hmmm. I wonder why. Maybe it's because you guys don't care and the student director doesn't care and about the only people that care are in the lightbooth or they don't have a major part in the play and can't do anything but watch this atrocity. I swear, even the "powhitefolks" would be ashamed of this.

Tuesday, March 2, 2010

College

Goodness gracious. How many blogs am I going to have titled, "College"? Haha. But my college decision has changed, yet again. Although now, I am not going to say for sure this is where I am going to go. I just have it narrowed down to two different colleges. Neither are Western. Western is MUCH too large. It scares me to death! It may make me sound like a baby but 20,000 people at a college just intimidates me. That's why I'm looking at Bellarmine. It looks so nice and cozy. It only has around 2000 people. I can't wait to go visit. I think I'll love it. The other college is USI. It has 10,000 but is closer to home than Bellarmine and I have family there. Argggh. I hate this. The only bad thing with USI is that I will have to get my Indiana teaching license and then my Kentucky license. But USI is really nice. I guess I'll just have to wait until spring break or this summer to make my decision.

Monday, March 1, 2010

February

February is over! It went by so fast and so many good things happened last month that I guess it helped make it go by faster. My only problem with it being March is we have the ACT NEXT WEEK and then we are that much closer to being seniors. I don't think I'm ready, to be honest. I am already ridiculously nervous for next year and I don't know why. I think I'm afraid to leave for college and leave my home and what not. But at the same time, I'm ready. I'm ready for a change of pace, a change of scenery. Even though one part of me says I'm ready, a much larger part says I'm not.