Thursday, May 20, 2010

Stacie and Alyssa

MY BESTIES!! I don't know what I would do without you guys. Y'all are my best friends and I love hearing your random conversations, even when I get in on them at awkward times.
Stacie:
You are my best friend. Your awkward laugh. Jajajajaja. The way you try to tell off colored jokes at Olive Garden and the way I can confide in you; it's great. I've known you since middle school and we became instant friends. We've been through a few hard times but our friendship is better now than it ever was. Well excuse me princesssssss. And you will always have Rosa Parks in my car. (:

Alyssa:
You are this tiny little thing that has been through more than ever needed. You have dealt with everything so well that just by looking at you, you wouldn't have a clue. You are funny, sweet and my best friend. What time is it? Adventure time! You've been there for me and never left my side when others hated me. You always provide the comic relief for my life. And if you do something that's against the rules, I'll go tell leader. (:

I just wanted to dedicate this blog to you guys because I love you all so much. You guys are my best friends and I don't know what I do without y'all's guidance, even though we try and steal flowers - STACIE - but you all have given me more good, funny, laugh out loud crying, memories than anyone could ask for. Love you guysss! :D

Wednesday, May 19, 2010

Russ

So I only have two blogs left and I figure that I could dedicate my last blogs to best friends. This blog shall be about Russ and the next blog will probably be about Alyssa and Stacie. Haha.

Russ is my best friend ever. I have known him since elementary school. He is very straightforward and if he doesn't like someone, he makes it known. That can sometime be a problem, but he's a very good judge of character as I have found out recently.
I fell at foreign language festival and he was there with me the whole time. He even pushed my wheelchair(even though I didn't need one) but he was there and I love him for it. He's one of my best friends. He's someone I can tell things to, even if I don't tell anyone else. He has that way where you can just like open up to him without actually meaning to. Marley will understand. Haha.

Love ya, Russ. (:

Wednesday, May 5, 2010

"You guys are so immature" -- Me

In my study hall, I'm a student aide for a freshman class. That's not so horrible, except that the kids are very immature and rude. Two or three of them tend to pick on this one special needs kid. He's not horribly special needs, but you can tell. Well, they cannot go a class without doing something to pick on him and before today, I've only said something once. But I was just sick of it. This one kid was copying off of his paper, by the way, they always call him stupid and if he's so stupid, why would they copy? But anywhosers, the other time that I said something they were just messing with him and making his laptop fall and then yelling his name and embarrassing him. I was sick of it that time and told them what they were-- which I cannot say on this blog (:-- and they stopped for the day. Well, next class they started again but with smaller things so I felt I could let it go for a bit. But today, this kid was copying off of him and that ticked me off and then the kid that sits behind him stuck a sticker on his back. Now that has happened to me before and I was so embarrassed so I had to do something, I guess it's just something in my genes. So I tore off some paper from my agenda book and threw it at the guy who was harassing the special needs kid. I then told him to take the sticker off his back and he did. Right about now, he is telling all his friends that I'm stupid and that the kid knows he's kidding. But I don't believe it. I don't think he's kidding. He's so rude about it. It's just. Arggggh. FRESHMENNNNN.

Wednesday, April 28, 2010

This Past Weekend

This past weekend had to have been one of the worst weekends EVER.
I went with my grandparent's in Tell City this weekend. They've always been on me about my weight, even though they're not horribly skinny themselves, and I've always just taken it like a good granddaughter and not told them how much it does hurt. It started Friday afternoon when they picked me up, just a few minutes in, they said something about my weight. Then, ALL weekend, that's what I heard. I couldn't not get away from it. On Saturday, I called my mom crying. I couldn't stand it. I needed to talk to someone about it and my mommy is always there. So I did and we talked it through without them knowing that they upset me.
On Sunday, everything went normally and my grandpa tried to make me a deal that for every pound I lost in May, June and July, he would give me ten dollars. Although this is quite the incentive, it was not made with the right motivation. I feel like all they want to do is change me to be their perfect, skinny granddaughter and I'm sorry, but that's just never going to happen. I'm fine the way I am, even though they refuse to accept that.
Back to the actually story, my dad called on Sunday, and he asked how it went. Well, I started bawling and long story short, he called my grandparents and got mad at them then they called me and turned it around to be MY fault. Of course! I called it when my mom wanted to call or come pick me up on Saturday but I told her that it would somehow be misconstrued and automatically become my fault. BINGO. WE HAVE A WINNER.
So I get a call from my grandpa who says my grandma is too upset to talk to me right now and he's so short with me, I feel like he hates me. Never in my life has he been that short with me or that rude so I was very upset and bawling. Once again.
Right now, everything is topsy-turvy and everything sucks. I told my dad that I really don't want to talk to my grandparents for at least a couple of weeks. Every time it's brought up, I get really upset, almost to the point of crying. I just hate that everything had to happen like that. I do love them, don't get me wrong. I just hate what they do almost every time I go up there. This past time was just the straw that broke the camel's back and, honestly, I'm kind of glad. I was getting sick of this crap. I don't need them telling me how worthless I am because of my weight. And I'm done with it. I won't take it from them if they say anything like that anymore and that's a promise. I'M DONE!

The Military

When people join the military, they go away and leave their loved ones to pick up the pieces. I have two closer relatives in the military, one not so close, and I'm getting ready to have a friend go into the military. Now, don't get me wrong, it is great what they do! But it just sucks for those left behind. Often, when I hear about Afghanistan, Iraq or Kuwait on the news, I hold my breath and hope for the best. There is really nothing else that I can do. And it's definitely not for the weak at heart. You are constantly worried that your family member/ friend will die in war and there is absolutely nothing you can do. It's not the normal thing that teenagers are worried about and it shouldn't be. It's just scary. And with graduation this year approaching, more people will be joining and then with graduation next year, some of my friends will be joining. And it will be very hard to handle.

Tuesday, April 27, 2010

Immigration Law

There is a new immigration law that was signed into affect a few days ago in Arizona. Normally, I'm all for restricted immigration because there aren't enough jobs four natural born citizens but this is ridiculous. An officer can pull you over at any time, without you doing anything, and ask you for your papers if you look like an immigrant. If I were in Arizona right now, I would be totally illegal. I don't carry around those kinds of papers, like my birth certificate, who does?! How is this even constitutional? I know protesters are trying to fight this, and I hope they do. It's absolutely silly. Now, I understand that Arizona is on the border and that we do need more border patrol but I mean, wouldn't it suck if you were randomly pulled over because maybe you looked like an immigrant, didn't have any papers that showed that you were legal, and put in jail? I know I would be absolutely ticked! So, just boooooo.

Yes, I do understand this is more of a rant than a blog. But in all honesty, I need a few blogs and me and my mom were talking about it this morning so I decided to blog about here in study hall. (:

Tuesday, April 20, 2010

Kentucky Wesleyan

This past Saturday, I went on a tour of KWC. To my shock, I actually liked it. I got to talk to a special education major and ask a lot of questions, get things cleared up, and basically, I have made my decision for good. This is it, you guys. Although I would love to have the full college experience of living on my own in the dorm and partying and what not, KWC is it. It has the dual accreditation for special education and elementary education and I will get a foot in the door with the school systems around here, where I want to live. Owensboro has always been my home, and it always will be. It's a good college and I'm excited to go. (:

Friday, April 16, 2010

After College

I've been thinking about what I want to do after college a lot lately and I'm thinking that I probably don't want to live in Owensboro. I want to go to college in Louisville at the moment. And even if I don't go to college in Owensboro, I want to probably live there. When I go there, I will student teach there and, hopefully, secure a job there. But on the other hand, I do want to live in Owensboro. Owensboro has been my home and I've never lived anywhere else. That's why I'm looking at KWC. But then I think about living at home and how I want that college experience and how I may regret not going away. I'm visiting KWC tomorrow and I don't know when I'm going to get to go to Bellarmine because our car is about to die. But, I may end up having to go with logic and what's cheaper instead of what I really want. Well, we'll just have to see. (:

Saturday, March 27, 2010

That's all I have to do for fifty bucks...?

Haha. So right now, you're probably thinking, "what?" but it's really a great story. And here it is:
So I'm up in Terre Haute, IN with my dad right now for the Indiana Special Olympics and he has his official friends and what not. So after today(Saturday) we go to the guy who runs the thing's house and have a little party. Well I'm the only person from Kentucky besides my dad(who's really a Hoosier but lives in Kentucky) and my dad's friend's wife. So I'm being heckled during the UK game and I turn to the guy beside me and I'm like, "I WANNA HIT THIS GUY!" Well, my dad's friends aren't the nicest people in the traditional sense of the word and the guy I wanted to hit, Bob, is in there with the best of them and had no problem being mean to me. Well, the guy sitting next to me was Tom, and said, very enthusiastically, that he would pay to see me hit Bob. So began the journey towards my fifty bucks.
A few minutes later, Tom comes up to me with twenty dollars and says that he will pay me that to hit him. I go, "noooo. That's mean." Then, it increases to forty. Once it hits that, it's on. I tell them, "Get it to fifty." And you won't believe you added the last five dollars----BOB. When my dad saw that, him and his best friend, Trevor had to walk out of the house they were laughing so hard. So now that it was fifty, I was like, "Umm. Can it be after the game?" They were like, "Nooo. Next time out!" As luck would have it, two seconds later, there was a time out. So I get up, it gets dead quiet and PJ, this other referee, pulls out his phone and starts taking the video. So I feel AWFUL. I walk up to Bob and go "Ummm....." And then I just kind of hit him, like barely at all. And then they got really mad because I didn't hit him hard enough, so I had to do it again, and I barely hit him any harder at all. But, hey, it worked. I got my fifty bucks. And Bob was a good sport about it so it made me feel much better.
So now I'm fifty dollars richer and what I did will now be a joke at many Special Olympics Terre Haute parties to come. (:

Monday, March 22, 2010

If I Had Time

If I had time to do anything, it'd probably be to chill with my friends. Lately, I have not had any time to hang out with any of my friends except at school, and we all know that's not really hanging out. I've been really stressed and busy and Friday night I actually got to hang out with Emily, Stacie, and Alyssa after the play. It was just nice. We all went to Beef's and just chilled there for a while. After that, we went to my house and sat on my swing. It was just nice. Just what I needed and if I had more time, I'd hang with them a lot more. They've been the ones there for me through everything that's going on in my crazy life right now. Love you guyssss. :D

Thursday, March 18, 2010

"That's not funny, Heather ---- I mean Tiffany."

So the play was last night, and it actually went well! Last night I was very nervous before the play and then we actually started getting into it, I felt better and more at ease. Opening night is always the hardest, and it is now over!
There were a few mess-ups though, as you can see is the title of this blog haha. We have a power point/ slide show kind of thing with pictures that are supposed to represent the time elapsed between the first act and the second that shows how close everyone on the "staff" have become. When we got to the second song of the slide show, I was afraid the music might run out and I was really scared, but it didn't, so it was all good. Mrs. Berry came up to the light booth after intermission and was like, "OH MY GOODNESS. I THOUGHT THE MUSIC WAS GOING TO RUN OUT!" Mrs. Berry was already super nervous so we were like, "It's okay, Blueberry. Chill."
The last scene, when Wanda is cleaning out Darby's desk, I kind of messed-up, but not really. Wanda was taking FOREVER cleaning off the desk and we have three light changes for that one part alone. It goes from full back lights, to dim, to dark. I had on the full back lights for a long time and I'm turning to Marley going, "I need to turn it off, really. Nooo, really." and Marley's telling me to wait but I do believe she would have sat there for another five minutes had I not turned the lights out on her.
And then there are the dogs. We have two dogs in the show and they don't get along - at all. So we had to keep them in Mrs. Berry's room until the time. I do believe that was the most stressful having to tell them, "WE NEED THE DOG!" and them running with the dog so that we could have them on stage on time.
So this blog went in about five directions about the play, but all in all, it was good. :D

Tuesday, March 16, 2010

College Fair


I'm so excited about the college fair on Thursday. I have my colleges narrowed down to two (although they do change by the hour) but I'm pretty sure these are the two. They are both small and offer the best program for what I want. After I go to the college fair, I think I'm going to make two posters: one with Bellarmine and the other with KWC. I'm going to list the pros and cons of each. My only problem is, I'm so uncertain at this moment that I hate it. It's consuming all my thoughts. I'm only a junior. But really, only? Right now, I should have it narrowed down to two, which I do, and be almost ready to decide. I'm TOTALLY ready to decide what school I'm going to. It's just that I almost need a sign. I need a neon sign that says, "GO TO BELLARMINE" or "GO TO KWC". I just wish it were that simple. So right now, I'm just in limbo. Wondering where I'm going to go. But I think I might make that poster tonight and maybe that will help me.
Here's my quick list: I love Bellarmine, I love everything about it. The only problem is that it's in Louisville and I can't student teach here - where I want to live after college. KWC is perfect for the student teaching aspect. My dad graduated from there and my mom went there for a short time. My dad also used to be the golf coach - but that may not be a good thing, they'd be like, "EWWW. A MINTO." Lol. My only problem with KWC is that I won't be able to experience living on my own. I want to live in a dorm, but I may have to give that selfish want up to help myself later on when I start my career. UGGHH.
As you can tell, this is on my mind a lot. Sorry that like ALL of my blogs are about college. Haha.

Sunday, March 14, 2010

Wuthering Heights



I finally checked Wuthering Heights out from the library! I have been dying to read it forever. I've always heard it's the ultimate love story, but more. It makes me so excited to read it finally. I also checked out Jane Eyre. I think that since we read AToTC, I feel more confident reading classics and I know I can beast them.
I haven't gotten very far, but so far it seems really good. They're just introducing Catherine and I'm so excited. I'll tell you guys how the book is. (:

Friday, March 5, 2010

I'm Gonna Hit Someone!

So I'm sitting in drama practice, and I cannot stand half of the people in here. They complain when the play sucks, but during practice, they don't give a rat's poo. They sit there, goof off and when the play comes around they're like, "Why does it suck??!" Hmmm. I wonder why. Maybe it's because you guys don't care and the student director doesn't care and about the only people that care are in the lightbooth or they don't have a major part in the play and can't do anything but watch this atrocity. I swear, even the "powhitefolks" would be ashamed of this.

Tuesday, March 2, 2010

College

Goodness gracious. How many blogs am I going to have titled, "College"? Haha. But my college decision has changed, yet again. Although now, I am not going to say for sure this is where I am going to go. I just have it narrowed down to two different colleges. Neither are Western. Western is MUCH too large. It scares me to death! It may make me sound like a baby but 20,000 people at a college just intimidates me. That's why I'm looking at Bellarmine. It looks so nice and cozy. It only has around 2000 people. I can't wait to go visit. I think I'll love it. The other college is USI. It has 10,000 but is closer to home than Bellarmine and I have family there. Argggh. I hate this. The only bad thing with USI is that I will have to get my Indiana teaching license and then my Kentucky license. But USI is really nice. I guess I'll just have to wait until spring break or this summer to make my decision.

Monday, March 1, 2010

February

February is over! It went by so fast and so many good things happened last month that I guess it helped make it go by faster. My only problem with it being March is we have the ACT NEXT WEEK and then we are that much closer to being seniors. I don't think I'm ready, to be honest. I am already ridiculously nervous for next year and I don't know why. I think I'm afraid to leave for college and leave my home and what not. But at the same time, I'm ready. I'm ready for a change of pace, a change of scenery. Even though one part of me says I'm ready, a much larger part says I'm not.

Friday, February 26, 2010

Why the Chicken Crossed the Road

I dream of a world where a chicken can cross the road and we will not have to question his motives. Haha. Just kidding. Well, just some random ideas of why are:

  • KFC took some of their friends and they were trying to get them back.
  • They saw the ghost of Colonel Sanders and had to run, not walk, away.
  • Their best friend was on the other side and it just doesn't matter where your best friend is, you're going to them.
  • They were confused as to what KFC actually did.
  • They just wanted to. (:

Be who you want to be, not who everyone wants to see

That is most definitely easier said than done. I like to think that I do whatever want, not caring what others think. And half of the time, that is the truth. But the other half, I completely care. I think, is someone watching? Is what I'm doing odd? Do I look okay? But I don't want to continue thinking about that. I just wanna do whatever I want and not worry what others think. The people that I don't like/ don't like me are my main hindrance. It really sucks because they don't matter to me - or at least they shouldn't. I guess I should really start focusing on not letting them get to me so much and just living life one day at a time.

Thursday, February 25, 2010

This Week

This week has been ridiculously stressful! A few times this week, I've just wanted to break down and cry and it's all because of this darn Foreign Language Festival. Making this darn quilt has really stressed me out, but I hope that we do well with it because that would be the best thing considering the work we've put into it. I'm just glad that we are finally done with the quilt (the hard parts, anyway) and that it will all be over tomorrow. Oh, how I look forward to tomorrow. (:

Tuesday, February 23, 2010

Sociology

Oh, how I hate sociology. It's a dead-beat class for dead-beat people. All we do in here is watch ESPN, get on our laptops and occasionally take notes. And believe you me, the note taking is quite rare. Also, it completely amazes me how teachers even get their jobs when they can't spell or use grammar correctly. I may not be the best speller or use grammar perfectly but when I notice it... it's bad. When a student corrects a teacher, there is something wrong.
Our teacher never does a thing to get us to be quiet or to calm this back corner where these girls basically run our class. They get up in the middle and do whatever they want, which includes yelling out the window. Now, I'm no saint in class but I don't consider the classroom my own. Arrghh. It's just so frustrating. D:<

Monday, February 22, 2010

A Tale of Two Cities


That ending made me cry. :( That's probably because my favorite character throughout the book has been Sydney Carton. Sydney did a very noble thing by giving his life for Darnay. It was a very selfless and honorable thing. Carton loved Lucie with all of his heart and had earlier said that he would give his life for her. Granted, when an author puts that in a book, it's obviously foreshadowing. But I didn't want it to happen! All Carton wanted was to make Lucie happy. He also thought that by giving his life he would live on for generations of her children. On the last pages which represent the last thoughts of Carton, he tries to envision the future. He sees Lucie and Darnay naming a child after him and him living forever through them.
In my perfect ending, Darnay would have been killed and Lucie would have been like, "Oh, whatever," and married Carton. That would have been the perfect ending. Oh, and what about that Miss Pross? She is my new hero. (:
I call for a movie party at my house where we watch A Tale of Two Cities. They have it at the library. Patty's Bar anyone?

Thursday, February 18, 2010

Blackbird


Over the summer, I became obsessed with The Beatles. I have over a thousand of their songs on my iPod and that's not even all of them! While going through that music, I discovered the song, "Blackbird". I never knew you could love a song so much. The beauty of the song is the scarceness of lyrics and being acoustic. I love this song so much it's quite ridiculous. If I see a blackbird, I start singing it. It has quickly become my favorite song. It's not exactly what you would expect from The Beatles though, it's a little more low-key. Here are the near non-existent lyrics:
Blackbird singing in the dead of night
Take these broken wings and learn to fly
All your life
You were only waiting for this moment to arise
Blackbird singing in the dead of night
Take these sunken eyes and learn to see
All your life
You were only waiting for this moment to be free
Blackbird fly
Blackbird fly
Into the light of a dark black night
Blackbird singing in the dead of night
Take these broken wings and learn to fly
All your life
You were only waiting for this moment to arise
You were only waiting for this moment to arise
You were only waiting for this moment to arise

Tuesday, February 16, 2010

FEA Camp






I miss FEA Camp so much. I've been thinking about it lately and I just want to be back at Western with all my friends from camp. Camp really brought me out of my shell(even more). I did a lot of things that I NEVER would have done otherwise. I walked on a two inch wide rope, went around campus asking random people if they knew what time it was IN SPANISH and meeting all these new people who have become my friends. I love camp and I miss it with all of my heart and I cannot WAIT to go back.
To make my blog about half the length of the pictures, I shall recap my favorite memories.
The first day was pretty boring - except for the car ride there. So I drove all the way there, until we actually got to campus and got lost. When I finally got there, we went to the Kentucky Museum and met the dean and what not and got to know each other.
The third day was the best! We went to Nashville and went to a Science Museum where we were able to do a moon-walk thing in a harness. It was pretty epic.
The fourth day we actually got to sit in on a college class. Granted, we had to read about different types of discipline in education the night before, but it was pretty cool to work with the college students and kind of get an idea of what is expected in college.
The fifth and final day we woke up and went to breakfast in the Kentucky Museum. It was really sad because we got awards and there was a slideshow from all of the activities we participated in. I almost cried during the slideshow because I just wasn't ready to leave. I still think camp should be two weeks long.
But my favorite memory had to be all of the counselors and friends I met that are the best. I'm so excited for camp next year to see them again and hopefully there will be more than me and Brandy from Apollo. (:

Sunday, February 14, 2010

College

So I've finally decided where I want to go for college. Are you ready? I'm going to WESTERN! Haha. Fail, I know. Everyone from Owensboro goes to Western, but it's a good school.
About right now, it makes the most sense to just go to WKU. I will be in good standings for a lot of departmental scholarships because I have gone to FEA camp and I know a few of the professors. Also, I helped to start my own FEA chapter right after camp. So I'll be pretty good.
My grandparents are trying to make me go to OCC/WKU Owensboro for the first two years, but I want the full college experience. I want to live in a dorm and worry about whether or not I have the discipline to actually get my work done. Haha. Me and my mother were talking about me going to community college the first two years and then transferring but she was very indecisive and I finally decided that I would just go straight to WKU.
Another huge plus - it's close to home! I have been so scared about going away to college because I am so attached to my mother and my family. I couldn't imagine going to a college far way so I'm glad the campus that's right for me is so close to home.
Just so you know, I googled pictures of "Western Kentucky University" and two of these pictures of Big Red in this off-putting pose came up so I decided that I had to use it. Amazing, right? (:

Thursday, January 28, 2010

Winter

What kind of world would there be without winter? Why, there would be no childlike faith then. What kind of world would there be without winter? Why, it would be as dreary as a world with no snow. What kind of world would there be without winter? Why, there would be no livelihood to make tolerance this existence.


Yeah, I couldn't resist sort of - but not really - quoting from Yes, Virgina There is a Santa Clause. Haha. (:

Life

I know what I want out of life. I know what I want to do with my life, everything. I just don't know exactly how to get there. I know I'm quite young to be pondering this, but I know what I want and I what I want the most is a plan.
I want to become an elementary school special ed teacher. I want to go to college for four years to achieve that. After I finish college, I want to start teaching and while I'm teaching attend college either at night or online and get my masters.
When I go to college, I want to either go to WKU or Bellarmine. I've been to Western several times and know the campus fairly well, so a campus visit is not necessary. Bellarmine, on the hand, I have never been there! I've just seen what the website has to offer and that is never a good representation of a college. Both of them are very good schools for my intended major so I don't think that's a problem. I just wish I knew which one.
What bothers me, I think, is the uncertainty. Granted, there is always going to be uncertainty in the future. But this amount of uncertainty just stresses me out beyond belief. I'm not even a senior yet but I feel like I should have an idea of the college I should go to. I know I'm ahead of most juniors by knowing what I want to do but that doesn't make me feel any better.
Main point - UNCERTAINTY SUCKS!

Wednesday, January 27, 2010

My Papaw

On Saturday, my Papaw is turning EIGHTY! Now, that's a LONG life. He had a pacemaker put in today and I was super glad that the operation went well. So I called him at the hospital and told him, "Hey Papawww, glad you're okay. See you on Saturday." He seemed very glad. :D
I'm my grandparent's only grandchild (this is my dad's side), and they love it when I come up. I love it when I go up there, too. I get to see all of my friends up there - at the VFW, haha - and I get to spend all the time with my grandparents.
I'm very lucky that both of my grandparents are alive because many of my friends' grandparents are not. My grandpa is a veteran of the Korean War and he loves to watch M*A*S*H*. Haha. One time I asked what Papaw would be on the show and my dad was like, "Radar." And I was like, "YESSSS. That's my favorite character on that show!!" Haha. Radar's so awkward. Lol.
Me and my grandpa always have heart to hearts while I'm up there. We talk about life and what not. He always recommends books for me to read. I don't know what I'd do without my grandpa in my life. I love him. (:

Thursday, January 21, 2010

Trademarks


There are only a few friends that I can say actually have trademarks. These are a few: Emily, Stacie, Alyssa and Shaun Goebel.
Emily's trademark would have to be her sarcasm and her writing. She writes all the time. I don't know a moment when she's not. Her sarcasm. Is she sarcastic? No, not at all. Haha.
Stacie's trademark would have to be being addicted to Silent Hill and Pokémon. Also, she's my blonde BFF. (:
Alyssa's trademark would be being addicted to Pokémon and all things cute and cuddly. Also, she's very sarcastic while at the same time being nice.
SHAUNNNN. His trademark is his shirts! OMG. They are hilarious. Here is his best one. The best part is that he loves to wear it during drama when we are working on a play about AIDS. I love you Shaun. I'm positive. Hahaha. :D

Tuesday, January 19, 2010

Ugly Words

Me and my mom say a lot of words and then we go, "EWWW." So these are a few. (:

  • Mucus
  • Grotesque
  • Waft
  • Sauerkraut
  • Grimace
  • Shrill

Don't you just love the word shrill, guys? :D

Goodness.


So this three day weekend was... eventful, to say the least. I went to the movies twice and Alyssa, Stacie, and Stephanie came over and we played Silent Hill. (:

Ahhhh, the movies. This is a very AWKWARD subject. I guess I'll start at the beginning. Friday, I got an email from a guy asking if I wanted to go to the movies. I didn't respond, afraid to hurt his feelings if I said, only as friends. As soon as I walk out of school, I get this call and it's a friend who is like, "YOU HAVE TO GO TO THE MOVIESSS. IF YOU DON'T GO, YOU SHOULD FEEL AWFUL. KELSEYYYY." Fine, I say, I'll go. But only as friends and only if you and your boyfriend go. So she says fine and we go the next day.
So I meet her and her boyfriend at the movies and the guy shows up late. Okay, whateverrrr. So then, we get in the movies, and he finally shows up. I sit between him and my friend. That's fine. Then her and her boyfriend keep whispering, "ARE YOU GUYS TALKINGGGGGG?!" And I go "NOOOOO WE'RE AT A MOVIE!" Haha. I'm so clever. (: His arms are crossed the whole time. Well, whateverrr.
As we walk out of the movies, I see another one of my friends. So me and him start walking together and talking and the guy I went there with, kind of left behind, but still talking about the movie my other friend had seen. When we finally get to the door, I tell him, "I had a good time. See ya Tuesday." And then I walk off because my mother was there to pick me up. Then, my other friend who I had been talking to on the way out walks up beside me and we basically walk to the car together and say goodbye and whatnot. Yeahh. My mom kind of got mad at me for that. But he knew we were just going as friends and I saw another friend and started talking, I wasn't going to completely ignore him. So yeah. Life.

The picture, by the way, basically has nothing to do with the blog. It was just a cute picture of things at the movies. Haha.

Thursday, January 14, 2010

Elsewhere


On Tuesday, I finished a book called Elsewhere. It was a very interesting book that was very geared toward young adults. It also made me think about what Heaven, or the afterlife, or whatever you believe in, is going to be like. I guess I'll start with a long synopsis (it started as a short one, but this book is so interesting, there is no way).
The basis is that a fifteen year old girl, Elizabeth Marie Hall, is hit by a taxi and finds herself on this boat. At first she doesn't remember anything and assumes that she is dreaming. She meets a girl similar in age, Thandi, and they soon become close because the boat they are on, The SS Nile, is mainly filled with older people. While Thandi realizes what has happened, Liz, or Lizzie, still believes that it is a dream.
Finally, the ship docks. By now, Liz has realized that she is dead but is far from accepting it. She tries to stay on the boat so that she may return to Earth. But she finds out from the Captain of the boat, who looks to be about six or seven, that she would then become a ghost. Deciding that that would not be a choice for her, she chooses to get off the boat.
Once off the boat, she meets her grandmother. She has never met her grandmother before because her grandmother died before she was born. When she first sees her grandmother, she is very apprehensive about her, and her own death.
The next day, Liz has an appointment at the "Registry". This is where the newly dead go to learn exactly what Elsewhere is. They learn that they age backwards, and Liz is very upset. She is frustrated that she will never get to experience much of what life has to offer. She will never get married, go to prom, get a driver's license, etc. In the aging process, the age they die at, for Liz fifteen, is what they are when they get there and they age backward from there until seven days old. At seven days old, they are sent down the river back to Earth to be born again. She also discovers that there is a "Sneaker Clause" where if you decide within your first year in Elsewhere, you can go back to Earth with the babies.
Liz takes a while to accept her death. She makes many trips to the Observation Decks, which are places where the dead can watch the living. She becomes obsessed with these spending much of her grandmother's money, or "eternims" there.
One night, Liz tries to contact her family and makes a trip to "The Well", which is at the bottom of the river/ ocean they have in Elsewhere. She gets caught by a worker, Owen Welles. They have a brief exchange and soon become unlikely friends. After they come friends, their relationship turns romantic.
Everything seems to be going well for Liz and she actually accepts her death, until Owen's wife from when he was alive shows up. She breaks Liz and Owen up for a brief period of time but then Owen and his wife break up because they realize the only thing they have in common anymore is the past.
Before Liz realizes Owen and his wife broke up, Liz decides to become a "Sneaker" and is sent down with the babies. A part of the way down, she realizes it is not really what she wants and tries to turn back. She fails and partly drowns. She is stuck at the bottom of the ocean until Owen saves her a day later. Then, they get back together and are together until Liz is sent down the River for real this time as a baby.

My whole point of this blog is not to give you that synopsis, which was longer than I meant it to be. Sorry. :)
My point was that, Heaven can't be like, Elsewhere - can it? I guess depending on your religious beliefs it can be whatever you want. But I refuse to believe it is anything like Elsewhere. Zevin put in reincarnation and added a Heaven where everyone gets in, no matter what they did when they were alive. The last part seems promising. But I want to believe that when I am with God, I am there for good. Oh! And in Elsewhere, you don't meet God, he is "as he was when you were alive." So I guess that means that he either exists or doesn't exist depending on your beliefs. When I go to Heaven, I want to see God and meet who I worship. Not repeat an endless cycle and never meet my Creator like in Elsewhere.

My longest blog yet - Whoot whoot! (:

Wednesday, January 6, 2010

Predicament

So one of my friends is in this predicament: he has to go to the funeral of his "uncle". Uncle is in quotations because my friend has not known his dad since he was eighteen months old and, therefore, never met said uncle. He says that his mom is making him go because it is respectful to do so. True, it is. But what his dad did is less than respectful. If I were in that position, I honestly doubt I would be able to muster up the courage, strength, and humility it would take to do that. I respect my friend more than ever now, even though he says he's going just because his "mommy made him". But I know him better than that, he is a very respectful person and I believe that he would have gone anyway. I feel bad for him, though - that he doesn't know his dad. It's sad really. And I hope that the funeral isn't too awkward for him and that it doesn't depress him.

Re: 2009 Post

My "What Happened in 2009" blog post is quite boring. So many other things happened. I was reading a few blogs and realized that other things happened. But what sticks out in my mind the most is what happens with me and my family. It's a habit.
One really cool thing that happened in 2009 was the implosion of the Executive Inn. I went down there and got video and pictures. There will be a special on TLC that shows the people that actually imploded the Big E and I'm super excited to see that. (:

Yet another thing that I failed ot mention was the dreaded "Kentuckian Ice Storm of Death" haha. Personally, my neighborhood never lost power but all of my family and friends did. The first night, one of my friends from McLean county stayed at our house with her step-mom because a tree was partially on their house. A few days after they left, my grandparents moved in. They had been running their gas stove to stay warm during the day. I was worried they might get carbon monoxide poisoning. They finally headed my warning and came to our house. They stayed until the day of the Super Bowl and then my aunt and cousins came that night and stayed at our house to watch the game.
Oh, and a final note. R.I.P. the tree in these pictures. It had to be cut down following the ice storm. That means less oxygen and more global warming. D:

Monday, January 4, 2010

What Happened in 2009




Not many things really happened in 2009. The three main things that really stick out to me the most are: my stepbrother's wedding, the birth of my cousin, and my cousins' first birthday.
My stepbrother's wedding wasn't a huge thing, but it was my first time in Lexington. I was super excited to be in Lexington and a cool thing was that we were still up there when Billy Gillespie got fired and we bought the Lexington paper with Gillespie's face plastered all over it. We also saw the news conferences and EVERYTHING! It was super cool.
My cousin, Nevaeh, was born the day after my stepbrother's wedding. I remember being in the parking lot of the hotel, waiting to go home, and getting the text and a picture of her. She is so pretty now.
Although you wouldn't think a first birthday would stick out in one's mind, it does in this case. The twins were born almost 3 months premature. The fact that they are alive is a huge blessing. Their first birthday only makes us more grateful that they have survived.
The boy is Ezekiel, one of the twins; the girl with the teddy bear is Trinity, the other twin. The last one is Nevaeh, smiling and with slobber on her chin. Haha.